Blog Post

Headlinesn > Sports > Australia win toss, choose to bowl in World Cup final against India
l 519554 011345 updates

Australia win toss, choose to bowl in World Cup final against India

India’s Rohit Sharma in action during the coin toss as Australia’s Pat Cummins looks on during final of ICC World Cup 2023 at Narendra Modi Stadium on November 19, 2023. — Reuters  

Australia’s captain Pat Cummins won the toss and chose to bowl in the final clash of the ICC World Cup 2023 against India at Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday. 

In the ODI World Cup, Australia and India have met 13 times. Australia have won eight while India emerged victorious on five occasions. 

The highest total by Australia is 359 runs, while India’s highest score against Australia in the World Cup is 352. India’s lowest total is 125, and Australia’s is 128 in this marquee event.

Pitch and conditions

The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad has witnessed four games in the ODI World Cup 2023. Three games were won by the chasing team, with only one victory for the team batting first. The average score for the team batting first is 250. Captains winning the toss might opt to bat second. Under lights, the ball behaves favourably for batting, and if dew comes into play, it could aid the team batting second.

Playing XIs

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

More to follow…

#Australia #win #toss #choose #bowl #World #Cup #final #India

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *